The New Phytologist Tansley Medal


Tansley Medal competition


Tansley Medal 2018

The New Phytologist Tansley Medal is awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in plant science by an individual in the early stages of their career (including students and any researcher with up to five years’ experience since gaining/defending their PhD). The winner recives a prize of £2000 (GBP) and authors a Tansley insight review, published in New Phytologist, accompanied by an Editorial.


Applications for the 2018 Tansley Medal are now closed. Please see below for an update on the 2017 competition and details of the 2016 Tansley Medal winner.


Tansley Medal 2017 update

Submissions are being shortlisted for the 2017 Tansley Medal winner. The finalists and winner will be announced in late 2017. This will be followed by an Editorial, upon publication of the finalists' Tansley insights.


Tansley Medal 2016 winner


The winner of the 2016 Tansley Medal for excellence in plant science is Etienne Laliberté, of the University of Montreal, Canada. Etienne's Tansley insight is titled ‘Below-ground frontiers in trait-based plant ecology’. The judging panel was comprised of New Phytologist Editors Amy Austin, Liam Dolan, Alistair Hetherington, Elena Kramer, and Natalia Requena.


Image: Etienne Laliberté, winner of the New Phytologist Tansley Medal 2016
Etienne Laliberté, winner of the 2016 New Phytologist Tansley Medal for excellence in plant science.


The quality of finalists this year was very high and five individuals were shortlisted. The runners-up, and their respective Tansley insights, are listed below:



We would like to thank everybody for their applications to the 2016 Tansley Medal competition.