The New Phytologist Tansley Medal 2012 - Winner announced

Last updated: 3 Jul, 2013

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2012 Tansley Medal for Excellence in Plant Science is Robin Hopkins from the University of Texas, Austin (USA).

Click here to read the interview with Robin.


Robin's excellent minireview entitled Reinforcement in plants is now available to read for free.


Robin Hopkins is a National Science Foundation post-doctoral research fellow at the University of Texas at Austin. Her research focuses on understanding the role of natural selection during the process of species formation. In this context, she investigates the genetic basis of adaptation, the strength and causes of selection, and the interactions between evolutionary forces such as selection, migration and drift. Her work integrates molecular biology, population genetic analyses, and field-based selection experiments in order to understand how plant species evolve prezygotic reproductive isolating mechanisms in sympatry.


Robin receives a £2000 prize in association with the Tansley Medal award.

For more information about Robin visit or contact her at


This year’s runner up is Erik Verbruggen from the Free University of Berlin, Germany. To find out more about Erik please visit:

His minireview is entitled: Mycorrhizal fungal establishment in agricultural soils: factors determining inoculation success

Both minireviews as well as an Editorial by Liam Dolan, Tansley review Editor, are now available for free in the March 2013 (197:4) issue of New Phytologist.


Many congratulations to both Robin and Erik.


Published 29/01/13