New Phytologist Tansley Medal


Information for applicants


The New Phytologist Tansley Medal is awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in plant science by an individual in the early stages of their career (including students and any researcher with up to five years’ experience since gaining/defending their PhD). The winner will receive a prize of £2000 (GBP) and will author a Minireview that will be published in New Phytologist, accompanied by a comment from the Editor-in-Chief and Tansley reviews Editor.


Applications for the 2015 Tansley Medal will open in the summer of 2014. Keep checking back for updates.


Please read the selection procedure and rules carefully before submitting your application. Full details can be found on the linked pages.

Tansley Medal logo

Good luck, I look forward to receiving your submissions.


Sarah Lennon
Managing Editor, New Phytologist



Please feel free to download and distribute the promotional flyer, poster or post-card amongst your colleagues.


Tansley Medal 2013

The joint winners of the 2013 Tansley Medal for Excellence in Plant Science are Dr Li-Qing Chen of the Carnegie Institution for Science, USA whose Minireview is titled ‘SWEET sugar carriers for phloem transport and pathogen nutrition’, and Dr Jing-Ke Weng of the Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, whose Minireview is titled: ‘The evolutionary paths towards complexity: a metabolic perspective’.


We conducted short interviews with the 2013 winners, to find out a bit more about them:

Read the interview with Li-Qing Chen.

Read the interview with Jing-Ke Weng.


The winners’ Minireviews were published in Volume 201 Issue 4. Click here to read the accompanying editorial by Professor Liam Dolan, Section and Tansley review Editor, New Phytologist.