The 2014 Tansley Medal winner is Dr William Anderegg

Last updated: 14 Feb, 2015

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2014 Tansley Medal for excellence in plant science is Dr William R. L. Anderegg of Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA.


William was one of seven early-career applicants who were shortlisted for the second round of the competition. The finalists were invited to write and submit single-author Minireviews for publication in New Phytologist. William’s excellent winning Minireview is titled ‘Spatial and temporal variation in plant hydraulic traits and their relevance for climate change impacts on vegetation’. William will receive a £2000 prize in association with the Tansley Medal award.


William Anderegg, Princeton University, 2014 Tansley Medal Winner


William is a NOAA Climate and Global Change Post-doctoral Research Fellow in the Princeton Environmental Institute at Princeton University. William’s research is focused on examining the legacy effects of drought and drought recovery, evolutionary trade-offs in plant hydraulics, and carbon cycle variability at the regional and global scale. Find out more about William’s work on his website or contact William at


William’s Minireview was published in Vol. 205 Issue 3 of New Phytologist alongside an accompanying Editorial by Sarah Lennon, Managing Editor, New Phytologist and Liam Dolan, Section and Tansley review Editor, New Phytologist. We have also published an interview with William and you can follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ for future updates.


Tansley Medal banner


The quality of finalists this year was extremely high and seven individuals were shortlisted. The six runners-up, and their respective Minireviews, are listed below:


Stuart Campbell, University of Toronto, Canada, ‘Ecological mechanisms for the coevolution of mating systems and defence’.

Pieter De Frenne, Ghent University, Belgium, ‘Innovative empirical approaches for inferring climate-warming impacts on plants in remote areas’.

Jesse Hollister, University of Toronto, Canada ‘Polyploidy: adaptation to the genomic environment’.

Masayoshi Nakamura, Carnegie Institution for Science, Stanford University, CA, USA, ‘Microtubule nucleating and severing enzymes for modifying microtubule array organization and cell morphogenesis in response to environmental cues’.

Diane Saunders, John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK ‘Hitchhiker’s guide to multi-dimensional plant pathology’.

Daniel Sloan, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA, ‘Using plants to elucidate the mechanisms of cytonuclear co-evolution’.


Thank you to all the applicants for producing another high-standard competition this year and many congratulations to William Anderegg for this outstanding achievement!


Tansley Medal banner 2


See also:

Past Tansley Medal winners

Tansley Medal homepage

William Anderegg’s website

The New Phytologist Tansley Medal 2014 (Editorial by Sarah Lennon, Managing Editor, New Phytologist and Liam Dolan, Section and Tansley review Editor, New Phytologist)

New Phytologist Editors’ Choice February 2015: The New Phytologist Tansley Medal 2014

Interview with the 2014 Tansley Medal winner William Anderegg

Tansley Medal homepage

Originally posted 11 December 2014. Updated 14 and 20 January 2015.