New Phytologist Editors' Choice: April 2016, 210:1

Last updated: 25 Feb, 2016

The New Phytologist Tansley Medal is awarded annually to a scientist in the early stages of his or her career in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in plant science. In 2015, the Tansley Medal was awarded to Alexander M. Jones of the Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge, UK.


Alexander Jones

Alexander M. Jones (Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge, UK)
Winner of the 2015 Tansley Medal


In this issue’s Editors' Choice we are very proud to highlight the work and achievements of Alexander and his fellow finalists and we encourage you to read their Tansley insights, submitted as part of the 2015 Tansley Medal competition. We offer our warmest congratulations all of the finalists, and we look forward to following their future careers.


Liam Dolan

University of Oxford, UK

Tansley review Editor, New Phytologist


Anderson JT. 2016. Plant fitness in a rapidly changing world. New Phytologist 210: 81–87.

Crutsinger GM. 2016. A community genetics perspective: opportunities for the coming decade. New Phytologist 210: 65–70.

Jones AM. 2016a . A new look at stress: abscisic acid patterns and dynamics at high resolution. New Phytologist 210: 38–44.

Lozano-Duran R. 2016. Geminiviruses for biotechnology: the art of parasite taming. New Phytologist 210: 58–64.

Macho AP. 2016. Subversion of plant cellular functions by bacterial type-III effectors: beyond suppression of immunity. New Phytologist 210: 51–57.

Pringle EG. 2016. Integrating plant carbon dynamics with mutualism ecology. New Phytologist 210: 71–75.

Rodriguez-Villalon A. 2016. Wiring a plant: genetic networks for phloem formation in Arabidopsis thaliana roots. New Phytologist 210: 45–50.

Zhong X. 2016. Comparative epigenomics: a powerful tool to understand the evolution of DNA methylation. New Phytologist 210: 76–80.