New Phytologist Editors' Choice: March 2017, 213:4

Last updated: 6 Feb, 2017

In this issue’s Editors' Choice we are pleased to feature the work of the Tansley Medal winner and finalists. The New Phytologist Tansley Medal is awarded annually to a scientist in the early stages of his or her career in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in plant science. In 2016, the Tansley Medal was awarded to Etienne Laliberté of the University of Montreal, Canada.


Etienne Laliberté of the University of Montreal, Canada.
Winner of the 2016 Tansley Medal.


This year's finalists were:

  • Marie Barberon, University of Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Charles W. Melnyk, The Sainsbury Laboratory, Cambridge, UK
  • Roberto Salguero-Gómez, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Benjamin Schwessinger, Australian National University, Australia


We encourage you to read the collection of Tansley insights in this issue, all of which were submitted as part of the 2016 Tansley Medal competition. We offer our warmest congratulations all of the finalists, and we look forward to following their future careers.


Barberon, M. 2017. The endodermis as a checkpoint for nutrientsNew Phytologist 213:1604–1610.

Laliberté E. 2017. Below-ground frontiers in trait-based plant ecologyNew Phytologist 213: 1597–1603.

Melnyk, C W. 2017. Connecting the plant vasculature to friend or foe. New Phytologist 213: 1611–1617.

Salguero-Gómez , R. 2017. Applications of the fast–slow continuum and reproductive strategy framework of plant life histories. New Phytologist 213: 1618–1624

Schwessinger, B. 2017. Fundamental wheat stripe rust research in the 21st century. New Phytologist 213: 1625–1631


Listen to our interview with Etienne Laliberté:



Liam Dolan
University of Oxford, UK
Tansley review Editor, New Phytologist